Book review of “Twenties Girl”

Being a semi-narcissist, I thought I would introduce a bit about myself and how I am a great Sophie Kinsella fan and how much I love her writing. And, ahum, how much I am keen at writing. And, you know, I am kinda into poems and stuff. But, who am I kidding anyway! I have no competition with her. Besides, I don’t wanna sound like that Bill Lington who would want his face on his own coffee company’s cups. (He’s a character in the book by the way, in case you were wondering.) Sophie is unique and really effective writer, full of humour. She’s got those powerful pen skills to indulge a reader till the very end of the book, craving for more. And, I really appreciate her hard work and creativity. I have learnt life lessons as well some really cool writing skills from her last two books. (Craving for other books.) I was really impressed and gobsmacked by her book I read just before “Twenties girl” which was “I’ve got you number”, of which book review is somewhere on the way, stuck in traffic.

*cough cough*

The story is about a woman named Lara who meets a ghost, who happens to be her dead great aunt, Sadie Lancaster. It’s all about the chronicles of Lara as she goes through her messy relation and business together with Sadie, helping each other out. Sadie has a purpose to have been visible to Lara. And, Lara proclaims to her that Sadie is her “guardian angel”, which makes sense at the end. There were some emotional parts like the unrequited love of Sadie (the great aunt) and her lover. And, spoiler alert, when Sadie and Lara finally have unexpected goodbyes. It was as if I was watching a movie in front of me. Every bit of detail you could have imagined is mentioned. Her books can brighten someone’s day and they are totally my cup of tea, for sure.

Beautiful blend of humour, love and few lessons to learn about life in real. Sophie processes all the thoughts going on into the characters’ minds, which are generally quite relatable in real life, onto the paper. Sophie’s spread her charm all over the pages with her very good writing. I can’t be more expressive with words.  Probably because it’s my first ever book review or I have no idea how to write one or haven’t looked up on internet on “how to write a book review”(’cause I personally think it should have a personal touch) or I am lazy, or maybe, the book was out of my expectation, or maybe all of them. Besides, I really enjoyed the book. I may have lacked the word creativity to make the readers who are currently eyeing every word or maybe have already tried skipping few words ’cause I’m starting to bore. Excuse me..

LET ME TELL YOU THIS: “THIS BOOK IS HIDEOUSLY AMAZING. IF YOU ARE UP FOR SOME HUMOUR, SOME DIFFERENT TASTE, HAD TOO MUCH OF THRILLER AND HOPELESS LOVE OR SAD STORIES OR A CHANGE FOR GOOD, OR A LITTLE CHEER-UP, MAYBE? YOU BETTER BUY ONE DAMN BOOK AND READ IT. IT’S KINDA THAT GOOD. AND, if IT YOU DIDN’T QUITE FEEL THE EXCITEMENT AS I DID READING “TWENTIES’ GIRL’ AND ‘I’VE GOT YOUR NUMBER”. THEN,  ‘I don’t know what will’.

Leave a Reply

